So it’s another year and another Beatles related release. I was sceptical about another John Lennon boxset, but even I must admit I was blown away by the remasters and song selection in the 4 vinyl set. I understand there have been a lot of Lennon releases over the years, including Acoustic Lennon, and the resurgence of Lennon related material in the 90s off the back of the Beatles anthology series; including a range of glasses (and yes, I owned a pair when I was younger). Even as a huge Lennon fan myself, you have to ask; how much more can they do with the Lennon catalogue?

Well, the answer to that question is the ‘Gimme Some Truth’ boxset. This remixed version of the masters is something that should have been released a long time ago. Lennon’s vocals cut through each song with the double tracked ferociousness and tenderness which I think would be a sound Lennon himself would have been looking to create during his recording career. The differences are subtle but make a for a new listening experience with a wider sound field on the guitars. Elton John’s backing vocals on ‘Whatever Gets You Through the Night’, previously lost in older mixes, stands out on this new remix. Whether it’s hearing extra bits of guitar or keyboards, it’s worth the money for that alone.

A strength of this album is that the producers (Lennon’s wife and son; Yoko and Sean Ono) had such a close and personal connection to Lennon. This allows them to have an understanding of how Lennon would have produced songs in this new era of technology.

This album, unlike previous releases, doesn’t just focus on Lennon’s top 20 hits but includes other gems such as ‘Angela’ and ‘Out of the Blue’.  These two songs are usually portrayed as album tracks, but really shine through as stand alone tracks within ‘Gimme Some Truth’. The boxset has a wide range of Lennon’s work; covering his singles, the Plastic Ono Band, and post-Lennon albums such as ‘Live in New York City’ (1986) and ‘Milk and Honey’ (1984).

If I was asked which two Lennon boxsets I would recommend, it would have to be ‘Gimme Some Truth’ and ‘John Lennon Anthology’ (released 1998). Between these two boxsets, you would hear the original productions and the newer, more polished productions of the songs. The ‘John Lennon Anthology’ with the demo version of ‘Steel and Glass’ in this set is untouchable, in addition to the set of home demos, alternative studio outtakes and other unreleased materials. The ‘Gimme Some Truth’ boxset also comes with postcards, a poster of Lennon in his bearded-granny-glasses phase, stickers, and a copy of the telegram returning his MBE to the Queen.

What more can I say, other than get this boxset! It’s a great addition to the Lennon catalogue.

In the words of the man himself…”give peace a chance”.

The  CD track-listing:

1. “Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)”

2. “Cold Turkey”

3. “Working Class Hero”

4. “Isolation”

5. “Love”

6. “God”

7. “Power to the People”

8. “Imagine”

9. “Jealous Guy”

10. “Gimme Some Truth”

11. “Oh My Love”

12. “How Do You Sleep?”

13. “Oh Yoko!”

14. “Angela”

15. “Come Together (live)”

16. “Mind Games”

17. “Out The Blue”

18. “I Know (I Know)”

Disc Two

1. “Whatever Gets You Thru The Night”

2. “Bless You”

3. “#9 Dream”

4. “Steel and Glass”

5. “Stand By Me”

6. “Angel Baby”

7. “(Just Like) Starting Over”

8. “I’m Losing You”

9. “Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)”

10. “Watching The Wheels”

11. “Woman”

12. “Dear Yoko”

13. “Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him”

14. “Nobody Told Me”

15. “I’m Stepping Out”

16. “Grow Old With Me”

17. “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)”

18. “Give Peace a Chance”

Revenge FM